Sugar free florentine biscuits. 

So I was one child down today as my oldest spent the day with his grandparents. This meant I had some (relative) peace to get stuff done. The plan was to spend the day reading the Highway Code as tomorrow I’m sitting the driving theory test. This has not happened. Mostly I’ve been charity shop shopping, napped with the baby and created a fabulous new recipe for florentine biscuits. The day hasn’t in the least bit been wasted, ok so I didn’t revise road signs but I had some lovely bonding time with my littlest one Sadie, treated myself and felt inspired. It occurred to me while I was half awake last night that Florentines made without refined sugar could be pretty delicious. So this afternoon I gave it a go. I stuck to the classic flaked almonds but instead of candied fruit peel which is of course coated in sugar I used a mixture of dried berries. Then I decided on a whim to throw in some pistachios…just coz I love them. They came out a lot sweeter than I imagined they would but I’m really pleased with how sticky and chewy they are. I sent some home with my dad when he dropped Arthur off so I’m hoping for a full review tomorrow. 

Sugar free florentine biscuits Makes 6

Ingredients 

  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 dates (soaked)
  • 1/3 cup flaked almonds
  • 1/3 pistachios 
  • 1/3 mixed dried fruit (I used golden raisins, green raisins, cranberries and cherries) 
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour 
  • 80g 75% dark chocolate 

Method 

Preheat oven to 180/gas 4

Melt the the coconut oil and the honey in a pan over a low heat until combined.

Add the dates and use a hand blender to purée into a thick, smooth caramel. 

Place all the other ingredients except the chocolate into a mixture bowl and mix together. 

Add the date purée and combine thoroughly. This moisture will be really sticky. 

Take spoonfuls of mixture and form into rounds, press them down flat onto the baking sheet. 

Bake for 15 minutes until golden brown. 

Once cool melt the chocolate in a heat proof bowl over a pan of water. Dip the underside of each biscuit into the melted chocolate and place in the fridge or freezer to harden. 

Once they are solid, take a fork and the remaining melted chocolate and do some fancy handy work swishing chocolate stripes over the top side of each biscuit. 

  

Leave a Reply

