Healthy Apple Cupcakes

Over the past few days I’ve been trying to come up with a sugar free sponge recipe. Let me tell you this is not easy! Traditional sponge relies pretty heavily on sugar. My first attempt was so bad, honestly I wouldn’t feed it to a dog. After a good few experiments however I think I have 2 good recipes. One for these apple and oat cupcakes and a chocolate alternative that I’ll share in my next post. As well as being refined sugar free, these cakes are also gluten free. I’m using coconut flour which I only discovered a couple of months ago. My children (well really my husband) bought me a bag of it as a mothers days gift. This might sound an odd gift to some people but to me this is the best kind of present. Coconut flour is pretty tricky to work with you can’t substitute ordinary flour for coconut flour in the same amounts. It’s kind of its own beast, it soaks up liquid more than other flour, but it’s well worth experimenting with I reckon. It’s a good source of fibre and protein and I think it gives a really nice subtle coconut flavour and texture. These cakes went down pretty well with my children. Don’t expect a traditional sponge, the coconut flour and oats give a different texture but it’s tasty all the same and the apple purée gives a fruity taste. 

Apple and oat cupcakes 

Ingredients 

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup ground oats 
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder 
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup melted soya butter 
  • 1/3 cup apple sauce 
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup 
  • 1 tbsp Greek yoghurt

Method
Preheat the oven to 180/gas 4 

First make the apple sauce. To do this simply peel and chop 1 Apple. Cook in a pan over a low heat with a dash of water until soft then mash or blend till smooth. This is best done with the lid on but keep an eye on the water, adding more of it starts to look dry. This should only take about 5-10 minutes. I like to use 5-6 apples at a time so I have some for the fridge…my kids love it on top of yoghurt. 

Next place the porridge oats in a food processor and whizz until they turn into a fine powder. 

Transfer oats into a mixing bowl and add the coconut flour and baking powder. Stir to combine.

In a small pan melt the butter. I used Pure soya spread but you can just as well use ordinary unsalted butter. 

Add the melted butter to the dry ingredients along with the eggs, vanilla, yoghurt, apple sauce and maple syrup. (the yoghurt can be substituted for soya yoghurt if your dairy free)

Mix everything together and spoon into small paper cases. You should get 6 cakes from this mix. 

Bake in the oven for 25 minutes. 

Once cooled top with 100% fruit spread (my favourite is Meridian apricot) as it compliments the Apple flavour of the sponge really well. Then sprinkle with desiccated coconut and enjoy with a cup of tea.   

  

Leave a Reply

