Apple, pear & spinach biscuits

I was planning to share my chocolate cupcake recipe in this post, however we had an impromptu baking session this afternoon that I thought I’d write about first..chocolate cupcakes tomorrow!…Snacks are big in my house. Everybody loves them. Sometimes I think my kids are hobbits as we regularly have breakfast and second breakfast followed by a mid morning snack. Like every mum I know I always have a bag of rice cakes or oatcakes stashed in my handbag. I’m a sucker for the little toddler sized rice cakes too even though you pay more than buying just a normal bag of them. They are just such a good size and my kids see the crinkly packet and suddenly lots of little hands appear outstretched in front of me. Today, after an epic walk where my handbag was cleared out of snacks I decided to try a new idea and make a stack of homemade snacks ready for the next adventure. I’m sure they won’t last very long, maybe not even till the next outing but they were really quick and easy to make. Arthur helped first by tipping an entire bag of flour over the work top (note to self: don’t ask a two year old to sprinkle a little flour on the board then look away). Then he did some mega rolling out and cookie cutting like a pro. These biscuits are great for weaning, if you want something just the right size for small hands, they are soft to eat and have a sneaky veg in there too. My littlest, Sadie wolfed a fair few at dinner this evening. Here’s the recipe.

Apple, pear & spinach biscuits 

Ingredients 

  • 100g spelt flour 
  • 25g soya butter
  • About a 1/4 cup of apple, pear and spinach purée

Method

Preheat the oven to 180/gas 4.

Make the purée by placing half a peeled and chopped Apple and half a peeled and chopped pear in a pan with a dash of water. Cook on a low heat with the lid on for 5-10 mins until soft. 

Transfer to a hand blender, add a few spinach leafs and blend until smooth and bright green. 

In a mixing bowl mix the flour and soya butter with your fingers into a crumbly dough. 

Mix in the purée, adding more flour if it’s too sticky. 

Roll out on a flour dusted board. Use a small cookie cutter to cut about 12-14 biscuits. 

Place them on a lined baking sheet and cook for 15-18 minutes. Cool on a wire rack then enjoy plain or with peanut butter and cheese.

    

Leave a Reply

