Chocolate, banana & avocado muffins

Full disclosure I’ve made this recipe 3 times now in a row because I kept forgetting to put key ingredients in. The first time I forgot the honey…they tasted ok but not quite sweet enough, the second time I forgot the bloomin eggs! And hey presto third time lucky we have chocolate, banana, avocado muffins. Arthur has been a bit poorly today with a sore throat and a temperature…but he has told he in no uncertain terms that he loves my chocolate cake and he loves to drink milk AND he loves me because I am his best friend ever! Might be because I made him these tasty muffins but I’ll take it, I don’t mind. He has recently become very affectionate and expressive with his emotions. Sometimes things come out a bit muddled up as they can do when you are only 2 and a 1/2 but it’s really sweet hearing him express how he feels so confidently. Anyway I don’t know why I was failing time and again to put all the correct ingredients in but we got there in the end and these little beauties are chocolaty and tasty and healthy…hurray! 

Chocolate banana & avocado muffins 

Ingredients 

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup spelt flour
  • 2 tbsp cacao powder 
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 banana (mashed)
  • 1/2 an avocado (mashed)
  • 1/4 cup soya butter 
  • 3 tbsp honey 
  • 2 large eggs 

Method 

Preheat oven to 180/gas 4

Line an muffin tray with 8 paper cases. 

Place coconut flour, spelt flour, baking powder and cacao powder in a large mixing bowl and stir to combine. 

In a spectate bowl mash the bananas and avocado. 

Melt the soya butter and honey in a pan. Then add it to the banana and avocado. Mix in the eggs then fold all these wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. 

Once the mixture is thoroughly combined, scoop into the paper cases until they are all evenly filled. 

Bake for 25 minutes. 

Cool on a wire rack. 

Share with your best friend ever and a nice cold glass of milk.

Leave a Reply

